Local Students Attend Oklahoma’s Electric Cooperatives Leadership Summit
Brooklyn Johnson, Penny Kendrick, and Rayna Felts

More than 30 student leaders representing electric cooperatives across the state participated in the 2024 Oklahoma’s Electric Cooperatives Leadership Summit on March 18, 2024, at the Oklahoma State Fairgrounds.

Brooklyn Johnson from Okemah High School and Rayna Felts from Morris High School represented East Central Electric Cooperative.

This annual event is designed to excite and motivate high school students to become leaders of their communities. 

Students raising their hands to answer a presenter at OYE Leadership Summit 2024.

The program featured Oklahoma natives, Rhett Laubach and Kelly Barnes, who have collectively spent over 40 years sharing leadership messages with students and adults in the education, agriculture, insurance, health, transportation and sales industries. The students learned how to focus on making the most of the service and growth opportunities available to them now and in the future. The program helped increase the students understanding of how leaders create change, overcome obstacles and serve others through behavior and attitude.

Students also received a $500 scholarship from their cooperative.